About The Company

Publons was founded by Andrew Preston and Daniel Johnston in 2012 to address the static state of peer-reviewing practices in scholarly communication, with a view to encourage collaboration and speed up scientific development

The Publons name is an homage to the "publon", the "minimum unit of publishable material".

Publons is a limited liability company registered in New Zealand and in the United Kingdom. We recoup our costs by partnering with publishers. These partnerships allow reviews performed for cooperating journals to be automatically added to Publons profiles.

 

Meet the Team

Andrew Preston, Managing Director andrew@publons.com 

Andrew Preston,
Managing Director
andrew@publons.com 

Penny Down  Account Manager penny@publons.com

Penny Down 
Account Manager
penny@publons.com

Laura Harvey  Head of Publisher Relations laura@publons.com

Laura Harvey 
Head of Publisher Relations
laura@publons.com

Vicki McKay Developer vicki@publons.com

Vicki McKay
Developer
vicki@publons.com

Daniel Johnston Director, Head of Institutions daniel@publons.com

Daniel Johnston
Director, Head of Institutions
daniel@publons.com

Andrew Harrison User Experience Manager andrewh@publons.com

Andrew Harrison
User Experience Manager
andrewh@publons.com

Broc Harcourt  Developer broc@publons.com

Broc Harcourt 
Developer
broc@publons.com

Matthew Betts CTO matt@publons.com

Matthew Betts
CTO
matt@publons.com

Alex Sokolov  Head of Data alex@publons.com

Alex Sokolov 
Head of Data
alex@publons.com

Tom Culley Marketing Director tom@publons.com

Tom Culley
Marketing Director
tom@publons.com

Julia T. Vilstrup Head of Publons Academy julia@publons.com

Julia T. Vilstrup
Head of Publons Academy
julia@publons.com

Mark Cameron  Developer mark@publons.com

Mark Cameron 
Developer
mark@publons.com

Alison Cameron Bookkeeper alison@publons.com

Alison Cameron
Bookkeeper
alison@publons.com


Publisher Advisory Group

 

Publons publisher advisors are industry experts with extensive knowledge of the way publishers think about peer review. Publons relies on their experience as key stakeholders in the research ecosystem to develop the best possible peer review platform for researchers around the world. Advisors provide feedback on our product roadmap and we ask for their their input into review policy decisions.

 
 
 

Academic Advisors

 

Publons Academic Advisors are scientists ready to revitalise science through peer review. Publons relies on their experience with peer review to help us deliver the best possible peer review platform to researchers around the world. Advisors provide much-appreciated help with and advice on the future of peer review, upcoming product features, and spreading the word about Publons.